Introducing Mantra Monday

Happy Mantra Monday everyone! What does that mean? Well, it means that today is the day you start living with intention. It is so important to start your day off right, and adding an intention is just the way to kick start another beautiful day!

Living with intention means that you decide what you want out of your day and your life. It means that you aren’t just “going through the motions,” you are purposefully living and acting throughout the day, being mindful of your body, mind, and soul.

A mantra is a great way to set an intention for the day! According to www.siddhashram.org, a mantra is “a divine combination of divine syllables or sounds which when chanted with devotion, faith and emotion gravitate the concerned God or Goddess or deity and secure their divine blessings.”

Mantras are used in Hindu practices and refer to any part of the Vedic text that is a metrical psalm of praise. These psalms are often used during meditation to repeat to oneself and assist in concentration and setting an intention for that particular mediation session. A more modern use of a mantra is picking a phrase, song lyric, poem, word, anything that means something to you and repeating it while mediating.

I personally like to pick a word, whether it is a feeling or something that I want to work on that day, and repeat it during my mediation that I try to squeeze in for 5 minutes each morning (seriously, get your tushes out of bed five minutes earlier, it’s worth it!)

This morning I decided that I wanted to work on forgiveness and patience. So, I repeated “I promise to forgive today, love, and have patience for things I cannot control. Forgiveness, love, patience. Forgiveness, love, patience…” I set my intention for the day and repeated my mantra, making sure to focus on steadying my breath simultaneously. You will be amazed at how refreshed you feel after only a few minutes. It empowers you to have a goal to better yourself each day, and live with a purpose.

We challenge you to try to create your own mantra today! Make sure to tweet @YourNakedLife to share your mantra with the hashtag #MantraMonday or comment below! We can’t wait to hear your intentions!

Leave a comment