Vegan Belgian Waffles. Yes.

image2I was making breakfast this morning and I decided that I just had to share my favorite breakfast recipe of ALL time with you: Vegan Belgian Waffles!

Now, I’ve been vegan, vegetarian, paleo, you name it. Currently, I just aim for mostly plant based. If that is still too restrictive, just aim for healthy :)

Now, I got this recipe from food.com, but I customized it quite a bit. First off you will need a Belgian waffle maker and I set mine to about 4.5 out of 5 on it’s heating scale. Then in a large bowl I mix together:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon organic sugar or Sugar in the Raw
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 dash salt
  • 1/2 banana, very ripe  (I usually add an extra half of banana because I like chunks of banana in my waffles)
  • 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk (unsweetened)
  • 1/4 cup natural applesauce (or Earth Balance)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 2 or more tablespoons of ground flaxseed

Keep the almond milk on hand, you might need to add a splash or two if your waffles are a tad dry. Mix them up either in a mixer or with a fork (It should not be a watery batter! If anything, it will have more of the consistency of cookie dough). Make sure you spray your waffle maker with oil before you put the batter in, they do stick! (or just wipe it down with coconut oil!) Put in the batter, flip, and enjoy :)

I HIGHLY recommend making these in bulk. They freeze incredibly well, just wrap them in  foil and put them in the freezer, then just pop them in the toaster oven whenever you are hungry! Hope you enjoy, and feel free to be creative! Add some fruit chunks, nuts, seeds, CHOCOLATE, whatever! Let us know how you like them!

 

xoxo

3 responses to “Vegan Belgian Waffles. Yes.

    • Let us know what you think! If you don’t have a waffle maker, you can always use a pan and make a thicker version of a pancake, still deliciously awesome :)

Leave a Reply

