Zucchini Pasta… get on it!

Ok, so I’m Italian, which means that I was fed pasta in the womb and haven’t stopped eating it since…until now (well, not completely). I have finally found a substitute that actually tastes good and doesn’t make me cry while I watch the rest of my family go to town with the spaghetti.

As a gluten intolerant/gluten loving human being, I never would have thought that zucchini pasta would be my savior!? I’ve seen zucchini pasta on Instagram and diet sites before, but recently I decided to try it for myself.

Now, let me make you aware that I am not a good cook. I can make mac n’ cheese, pb&j, and pasta (of course). This means that ANYONE can make this dish! So here’s how to make zucchini pasta in 3 steps:

1. Take a peeler and peel a whole Zucchini (skin and all) until you reach the center with the seeds.
2. Sauté the peels in a pan with a little olive oil, salt, and pepper for 2-3 min.
3. Eat!

Wow! Could it get any easier? Nope.

I was feeling extra ambitious the other night and added grilled chicken, pesto, mushrooms, and parmesan cheese. Try it, it was delicious! I know that cheese and pesto “aren’t good for you,” but I’ve found after years of attempted diets that if I eat tasteless veggies and bland quinoa I will never stick to the diet.

Now, what I do is try to have 90% of my meal be “healthy” and 10% be the necessary ingredients that will make me happy (generally cheese). Zucchini pasta cuts down on my weekly carb intake and still tastes like pasta to me (don’t tell my Sicilian grandfather. Please.), and if I want to add a little pesto, I will dammit!

So try this recipe out or comment/tweet us your healthy recipes! Each week we will pick one of your recipes to share. You never know, it could be yours!

 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

